Posted in Nature

SCARLET SKY

The blood moon

Okay, now this is supposed to be a very short post πŸ™‚ This year September 28 witnessed yet another Supermoon/blood moon phenomena. The blood red moon is said to be the result of a total lunar eclipse. That is, when the Earth casts its shadow on a Full moon. This September 28, 2015 was one such occasion. People were ready with their DSLRs and phone cameras on their rooftops and verandas. The moon was supposed to be huge and reddish in color. I too ran to my veranda with my dslr when the cloudy sky showed grace and made way for the mighty moon to appear. We were awed by the spectacular view and I instantly took a few snaps of it. The moon was bigger and definitely reddish. It was normal at first but then I noticed something.The moon seemed to change its color. I don’t know the exact reason, but it might had been just the shadow of the earth that made the moon look different from various angles. Anyway, it was mind blowing and through the rest of the night, I found myself drawn to it. I couldn’t concentrate on my studies any more, and all I could do was sit by the window and laud it. Later I heard that a blood moon is actually the depiction of the end times as per biblical prophecy. And this belief has been promoted by Christian ministers Pastor John Hagee and Mark Biltz. I was a bit horrified knowing that, so I googled it up and searched for scientific reasoning.The red color is caused by Rayleigh scattering of sunlight through the Earth’s atmosphere, the same effect that causes sunsets to appear red. And the idea of an apocalypse actually comes from the BOOK OF JOEL, where it is written “the sun will turn into darkness, and the moon into blood, before the great and terrible day of the Lord comes.” This means that there would be a combined total solar eclipse and total lunar eclipse. But they can’t ever occur on the same day! *phew*
Anyway, the blood moon can have many other implications. There can be many suggestions. (But please, that apocalyptic part is scary πŸ˜₯ ) *sigh*
Those who couldn’t catch this phenomenon this year, don’t you worry πŸ˜‰ You can catch it again next year on March 8 and 9.
End of days or not, you have to admit, it indeed is beautiful πŸ™‚Β P1040833 Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  (ps: I hope you like my pictures πŸ˜› )

Author:

Blogger, writer, book reviewer, music lover, TheGirlOnTheGo is your regular college girl who has a fetish for blogging and writing anything that pops up in her mind. She hails from India and this blog is meant to be a cozy place in the internet, congruent with her thoughts.

Leave a Reply

